MWG Chapters and Locations

The Missouri Writers' Guild has chapters throughout the state. Chapters meet regularly for members to share writing tips and ideas, listen to presentations by successful authors, learn about various genres of writing, and network with other writers and editors. Some chapters also offer readings and critique groups. In addition, many chapters offer special programs, such as writing workshops, public readings, contests, and anthologies.

Boonville Creative Writers

Facilitator: Liz Davis
Chapter Rep: Judy Stock
Telephone: 660-882-5402

Meeting time and location: 7:00 p.m., the second Thursday of each month at the: Boonslick Regional Library 618 Main Street, Boonville, MO 65233 (Use rear entrance)

Columbia Chapter of the Missouri Writers Guild

President: Lori Younker
Vice President: Linda Fisher (Well Versed Editor)
Secretary: Bob Ackermann
Treasurer: Suzanne Pautler
Adm. Assistant: Liz Schulte
Membership Chair: Alice Reese
Member at Large:
Chapter Email:
Meeting time and location: 1600 W. Broadway, Columbia Missouri at Unity Center Normally meets the first Sunday of each month, 2:00 - 4:00 PM.

Four Rivers Writers' Guild

President: Ross Malone - (636) 583-4768 or
Contact Person: Ross Malone on Facebook
Meeting time and location: Four Rivers Writers Guild: Meet at 7:00 P.M. on the third Tuesday of each month at the Franklin County Historical Society building at 15 North Oak Street in Union, MO, 1/2 block north of the County Court House.

Joplin Writers Guild

President: Claudia Mundell (effective 1/1/2011)
Chapter Representative: Larry Wood --
Meeting time and location: 6:00 p.m. on the second Thursday of the month, Joplin Public Library

Kansas City Writers Group

Contact Person: Mary-Lane Kamberg,
2128 E. 144th St.
Olathe, KS 66062-2355
(913) 764-4950
Meeting time and location: Thursdays 10:15 a.m. to noon, locations vary.

Lake of the Ozarks Chapter

President/Contact Person: Bob Anderson
26185 Indian Creek Lane, Barnett, MO 65011
Phone: 573-392-2696
Meeting time and location:

Marshall Writers' Guild

President: Authorene Phillips
Chapter Representative: Authorene Phillips
Meeting time and location: monthly on the 3rd Thursday at 1:00 p.m. in The Study of the Marshall Public Library

Maryville Writers' Guild

Contact Person: Amy Houts
Email to: or 660-562-3122
Meeting time and location: January, March, May, September, and November

Midwest Children's Authors Guild (Kansas City)

Contact Person: Christine Taylor-Butler
Meeting time and location:

Saturday Writers

President: Jennifer Hashieder:
MWG Liaison: Marcia Gaye:
web page:
Meeting time and location: Meeting time and location: We meet the last Saturday of the month, Jan-Oct. 11:00 am - 1:00 pm in St. Peters. Meeting location is St. Peters Cultural Arts Center, 1 City Centre Blvd., St. Peters, MO 63376. (But always check website as some meetings may move due to attendance requirements).

St. Joseph Writers' Guild

President/Contact Person: Donna Whittaker
Phone: 816-279-8291
Meeting time and location:meets the 3rd Saturday each month at 1 pm at the Joyce Ray Patterson Senior Center in downtown St. Joseph.

St. Louis Writers Guild

President/Contact Person: Brad Cook
Chapter Representative: Faye Adams
Meeting time and location: Monthly workshop and membership meeting on first Saturday of each month at Kirkwood Community Center, 111 S. Geyer Rd. in Kirkwood, MO 63122

Southeast Missouri Writers Guild

President/Contact Person: Donna J. Essner
Vice President: Rick Duniphan
Secretary: Samantha Deusinger
Treasurer: Laura Luttrell
Facebook page:!/groups/204897869651597/ Website:
Meeting time and location: Meetings are held at the Cape Girardeau library from 10:00-Noon on the last Saturday of every month, except July, November and December. Meetings that fall on holiday weekends are held the previousd weekend.

Springfield Writers' Guild

President: Wayne Groner --
Vice President: Yvonne Erwin
Secretary: Michael Humphries
Treasurer: Jimmie Frantz
Director at Large: Candace Simonson
Meeting time and location: 4th Saturday, monthly except December, Heritage Cafeteria, 1364 E. Battlefield, Springfield.
Mentor/critique hour: 11:00 a.m. Speaker, 1:00 p.m.

Twin Lakes Writers

President: Janice Havlik Votsmier -- or 870-424-4202
Contact Person: Susan Varno --
Newsletter Editor: Susan Varno --
Website Manager: Wiley Russell -- (870) 425-8197
Meeting time and place: Until 1/1/2012: Donald W. Reynolds Library, Mountain Home. After 1/1/2012: Van Matre Center in Cooper Park at 1101 Spring Street. 3rd Saturday of every month from 10 a.m. until noon.

Wee Writers in St. Charles

Contact Person: Ann Hazelwood --
Meeting time and Location: The 1st Thursday of each month at 7:00pm at 800 N. Benton, St. Charles, Missouri

Writers' Society of Jefferson County

President: Annette Rey
Contact Person: Doris Mueller --
Web page: Writers’ Society of Jefferson County on Facebook
Meeting time and location: Second Saturday of each month at Festus Library, Festus, MO 63028